My Dear APPNA STC Members,

Assalam o Alaikum and Happy New Year to you all!  It is with great humility that I begin my year as President of our South Texas Chapter.  It is a privilege to be serving the Chapter, in every capacity, and I am honored and thankful to be given this opportunity.

I would like to congratulate Dr. Mahmood Mehkri on a very successful year as President.  You collected funds for flood relief in Pakistan.  Our Annual Health Fair, Physicians Directory, sporting events, and Gala were all bigger and better than ever.  You have helped many young physicians with observerships and residencies. Your hard work and dedication to the Chapter are exemplary.  I look forward to your continued involvement and will definitely be leaning on your experience for much needed advice.

APNA STC’s strength lies in our numbers and unity.  We are blessed to have such a large number of highly qualified and accomplished physicians among our membership.  You, our members, make our Chapter what it is today.  My vision is to continue to shepherd the Chapter towards an even larger membership and continued unity.  

I look forward to working closely with the rest of our Executive Committee:  President Elect 2024 Dr. Riaz Ul Haque, Secretary Dr. Naveed Saqib, and Treasurer Dr. Mansoor Zaidi.  With the guidance of Board of Trustee members, Chairwoman Dr. Najma Aijaz, Dr. Haider Afzal, Dr. Tanvir Khan, Dr. Syed Arman Raza, and Dr. Mehkri, we will continue to work to build on our successes. 

I promise to continue the hard work and dedication my senior members have given to the Chapter to bring it where it is today.  I make myself available to everyone.  My cell phone number is 973-830-7794 (Still my old New Jersey number from residency!).  Kindly feel free to contact me at any time via phone or text with any suggestions, recommendations, and complaints.  We can only improve if everyone’s voice is heard.  I vow to make sure that happens.  

Looking forward to a great year ahead!

APPNA STC Zindabad!

Naveed Zafar, MD
President APPNA STC 2023

Dr. Mahmood Mehkri

President APPNA STC